top of page

Bursting with Joy

What makes your heart smile?

Recently I was challenged to “test the things that make you happy”. Do these things provide temporary satisfaction? Do they lead to a more lasting Joy? Both?

First of all, is there a difference between feeling happy versus Joyful? Can you have Joy even when you’re unhappy??

I believe so!

Happiness is usually a fleeting feeling. It tends to depend on external circumstances. (Who isn't in a better mood next to a warm fire on a blustery day?)

Joy provides a more lasting impression. It seems to direct us towards an eternal appreciation.

Joy Lighting Up

A personal experience:

Here's a pic of how I revealed the gender of our second child to my husband. (Blueberry Krispie Kreme donuts always make him happy... but this particular message made him cry tears of Joy!)

O Joy it's a Boy, blueberry Krispie Kreme donuts

To appreciate this announcement even more, I'm challenging myself and my husband to remember our ecstatic reactions and apply the same attitudes to the birth of our Savior.

I have a feeling God might say to us, "I want more for you than just a happy holiday. Yes, I admire your efforts to display pretty decorations, and I love your gifts of charity during this season. But please listen to me Child... I want to give you Everlasting Joy -seek my Son (the greatest Gift) and you will know what I mean."

Our soul waits for the LORD,

who is our help and our shield,

for in Him our hearts rejoice;

in his holy name we trust.

(Ps 33:20-21)

If only we would all respond to our Lord's Arrival the same way my children react when they greet me after a long day!

🙏Today's prayer: Dear Lord... As I anticipate Your Coming, sustain me with a willing Spirit to remember You, love You, & serve You. I hope to run to You always, and help me to greet You bursting with Joy. May we carry this Spirit with us forever. Amen. 🙏

Restore to me the Joy of salvation and sustain me with a willing spirit, Psalm 51:12

bottom of page